Food: A Southern Girl’s Greatest Gift

I love to cook and thanks to my grandmother, I have a talent for it. More than anything I love cooking for friends and family. This past weekend, in the middle of July, we had a full Thanksgiving meal at our house. I was in my element cooking all day and entertaining friends all evening.  We don’t only give thanks once a year, so I see no reason to only have the wonderful meal that goes along with it only once a year either. Bacon wrapped turkey, cornbread dressing, creamy mashed potatoes and gravy, bourbon glazed sweet potatoes and green beans that cooked all day in the slowcooker with a ham bone. A meal worthy of any holiday table, even if that holiday is  a Saturday with good friends. What I found interesting was anyone who heard of our plan was at first surprised, then went on about what a wonderful idea it was.  I will tell ya, finding a whole turkey in July is not easy, so if you opt to try this, call ahead.

As I  was planning my menu to the feast I thought about all the special foods I make for the different people in my life. Food really is one of my gifts to those I love and I enjoy giving as much as they do receiving.  Southern cooks all have special items we are known for and whenever there is a potluck or get together we are asked to bring them. I have a few, depending on the audience. For every family function I make a special sugar-free/dairy free cake for my father in-law who has dietary issues and deviled eggs, a true southern staple.  My sister has a few items she will request; homemade strawberry cake or a strawberry pretzel salad are at the top of the list, along with my lasagna. My brother inlaw loves a salad I make with a homemade dressing that has about a million ingredients, so I make a double batch, half for the salad and half for him to have to use later. My niece loves my mac and cheese, mostly for the lattice bacon “crust” on top and my bacon chocolate chip cookies (I see a pattern here). My husband is a fan of anything spicy and Mexican, so he is easy to please, but his favorite item are the breakfast burritos I make for him weekly and freeze. My stepdaughter will request homemade fettuccine Alfredo for every meal if we would allow it and a double chocolate cake with dark chocolate butter cream frosting that is as sinfully good as it sounds.

At work when we celebrate birthdays I typically make brownies, but one of my dear friends loves my homemade pimento cheese, so for her, I bring that. Her birthday is coming up and another co-worker said she was bringing the Southern staple. Oh the flurry of emails that followed. I politely let her know that I was bringing my pimento cheese, as I have done in the past and at the birthday girl’s request. Not being the sharpest tool in the shed, she replied with what could be taken as a challenge: a pimento cheese off. To this I say….BRING IT! Not only is my recipe amazing, its has all Southern staples should be: all the fat, all the fun, all the love!!! I don’t try to “go light”, not for a celebration. I have no doubt, in her attempt to appear health conscious (which she is NOT) she will use light this or fat-free that…that is NOT southern style pimento cheese darlin’.

I do not think I’m the best cook, but I am a good cook and I’m very lucky to have friends and family with similar talents. We all have our specialties and I would never be so bold as to insist on making another’s signature item, it’s just not done. So, we shall see how this pans out, but my guess is my bowl will be empty and the birthday girl will be happy, which really all that matters anyway.

 

Leave a comment